Hope In Love

Blessed

Posted on: November 16, 2010

this past sunday at church we watched the Louie Giglio dvd on prayer (remix or something like that). anyway he was talking about how often when we pray it is so me (or us) focused – God bless me, God be with me, God forgive me, God keep me safe and watch over me…he used a trip to florida as an example: when we go somewhere we always pray that God will bless the trip and go with us and keep us safe and watch over us (and forgive us our many sins – maybe as a precurser to all that’s gonna happen in florida…ha ha…Louie is funny.)

anyway the dvd was about remix’ing prayer…so not praying in the same way we always do. instead of asking God for blessings, how about we bless God. “God, help me a blessing to you on this trip”…

Ephesians 1: 3 says “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing in Christ.” and 2 Peter 1: 3 says “His divine power has given us everything we need for a godly life through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness.” we’ve already recieved the blessing – he gave us everything we need to live a godly life – 2000 years ago. all those promises of blessing in the old testament, they were culminated in the person of Jesus. instead of running around asking God for more blessings, maybe it’s time we said thank you for the greatest blessing he could give. maybe it’s time we use the blessing he’s given us to bless him…

Praise the Lord, oh my soul! Praise the Lord!

=============================

this post was written for the one word at a time blog carnival. this week’s theme is “gratitude”. Click here to read other posts from some awesome bloggers.

5 Responses to "Blessed"

In graditude we can pray, and sing: “Bless the Lord, Oh my Soul and all that is within me, Bless His Holy Name.
Thanks for a wonderful post!

One of the most memorable lines I’ve read in a book was from a Jewish character, who noted that before eating, Christians bless the food, while the Jews bless the Giver of the food.

I pray that I may remember to bless the Lord at all times.
“Baruch ata Adonai Elohei-nu, Melach ha-Olam!”
(Blessed are You, O Lord our God, King of the Universe!)

It’s so easy to remember to ask for things.. but remembering to say thank you seems so difficult at times. Good post, thanks!

I’ve actually been trying to that same mentality/heart … one thing that amazes me and has become part of my prayer for any trip is that the Lord will put me in exactly the right place at exactly the right time to either bless someone else or be the one that is to be blessed… and it happens both ways. I love it!!

thanks for stopping by all. and thanks for your thoughts as well.

Leave a Reply

Follow my tweets

Flickr Photos

rainbow

autobahn

roflbot

More Photos
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

